19:39 PM

Ky. Wing Commander, Texas Cadet Head National Award Recipients

Col. Brian W. Schmuck

The Kentucky Wing’s commander and a Texas Wing cadet have been recognized as Civil Air Patrol’s Senior Member of the Year and Cadet of the Year in connection with the organization’s National Conference, held virtually Aug. 12-14.

Col. Brian W. Schmuck joined CAP as a cadet in the Indiana Wing in 1995 and has been a senior member since 1999. Before becoming Kentucky Wing commander in March, he held a variety of duty assignments at the squadron, group, wing and region levels in Indiana. 

He holds the three master ratings, two senior ratings and a host of emergency services qualifications, including Incident Commander 1, and has completed Level V of the Senior Member Education and Training program.

During the past year he led his wing through the COVID-19 pandemic as the focal point for the planning task force. As incident commander, he served over 60 continuous days leading the response mission in which more than 100 members contributed more than 7,000 miles, providing more than 1.5 million meals to residents, driving more than 3,000 miles and saving the state nearly $250 million.

As chairman of the COVID-19 remobilization team, Schmuck developed relationships with the state Department of Homeland Security, Family and Social Services Administration and Army National Guard.

In addition, through CAP’s Aerospace Connections in Education program he worked with the local Air Force Association chapter to develop a program in collaboration with the Thrive Afterschool Program, which was recognized with the 2020 CAP National ACE Collaborative Program of Light Award. He also crafted CAP’s Adopt-a-Classroom program and serves as its national ambassador.

Cadet Col. Jackson B. Baker

Cadet Col. Jackson B. Baker, a member of the Texas Wing's David Lee Hill Composite Squadron, joined Civil Air Patrol in 2014 and quickly progressed through the cadet program, earning the Gen. Carl A. Spaatz Award  -- CAP's top cadet honor, earned by less than one-half of 1% of all cadets -- in April 2018.

He has earned 13 emergency service qualifications, received an Air Force Association flight scholarship, participated in four National Cadet Special Activities, served on the National Cadet Advisory Council, made a presentation to the Board of Governors, and represented his wing on Capitol Hill at three National Legislative Days.

As cadet commander and senior project officer for the Cadet Drill Instruction Academy in San Antonio. he was responsible for billeting, the dining facility, bus transportation, coordinating for building reservations, scheduling tours and planning with military personnel to provide cadets with instruction from active-duty personnel.

He helped build relationships with multiple groups at Joint Base San Antonio, which exposed cadets to the Airman Leadership School, military training instructors, emergency service working dogs, the Randolph physiology lab, the POW museum, and the Camp Bullis firing range.

Along with assisting senior members and cadets with training materials during the COVID-19 pandemic, he has totaled more than 80 volunteer hours with the Federal Emergency Management Agency and has worked as a storm spotter for the National Weather Service and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Here is a complete list of the other national awards:

Squadron of Distinction/F. Ward Reilly Leadership Award
Capt. Jennifer C. Moon, Squadron Commander
Westchester Cadet Squadron 1
New York Wing

Air Force Sergeants Association Cadet NCO of the Year
Cadet Chief Master Sgt. Hunter C. Mamawal
Albuquerque Heights “Spirit” Composite Squadron
New Mexico Wing

Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year
Patrick D. Carter
Indiana Wing

Director of Finance of the Year
Lt. Col. Anthony E. Riegling
Kentucky Wing

Paul W. Turner Safety Officer of the Year
Lt. Col. Christian J. Felton
Great Lakes Region

Frank G. Brewer Sr. CAP Memorial Aerospace Award -- Lifetime Achievement Award
Lt. Col. Paul A. Willard
Virginia Wing

Frank G. Brewer Sr. CAP Memorial Aerospace Award -- Organizational Category
Allan C. Timmerman
CEO of Jet Air Group FBO
Green Bay, Wisconsin

Frank G. Brewer Sr. CAP Memorial Aerospace Award -- Senior Member Category
Capt. Burton Dicht
Phoenix Composite Squadron
New York Wing

Frank G. Brewer Sr. CAP Memorial Aerospace Award -- Cadet Category
Cadet Lt. Col. Ryan J. Porter
Alaska Wing

Communicator of the Year
Lt. Col. James P. Weiland
Illinois Wing

Senior Chaplain of the Year
Chaplain (Lt. Col.) Timothy H. Miner
Virginia Wing

Squadron Chaplain of the Year Award
Chaplain (Maj.) Linda B. Berez
Milwaukee Composite Squadron 5
Wisconsin Wing

Character Development Officer of the Year
Tech. Sgt. Gerald L. Martin
Coeur d’Alene Composite Squadron
Idaho Wing

George Texido Legislative Officer of the Year
Col. Gary H. Tobey
Black Sheep Senior Squadron
Colorado Wing

Maj. Gen. Jeanne M. Holm Aerospace Education Officer of the Year
First Lt. Robert J. Roberts
Greenville Composite Squadron
South Carolina Wing

John V. “Jack” Sorenson Cadet Programs Officer of the Year
Lt. Col. Jamie Griffith
Great Lakes Region

Property Manager of the Year
Maj. Theodore R. Warnock
Virginia Wing

Col. Robert (Bud) Payton Public Affairs Officer of Year
Lt. Col. David G. Finley
Socorro Composite Squadron
New Mexico Wing

Col. David Kantor Operations Staff Officer of the Year Award
Lt. Col. Stephen D. Sammons II
Alaska Wing

Norm Edwards Counterdrug Officer of the Year
Lt. Col. Terry Howlett
Texas Wing

Inspector General of the Year
Capt. Danny W. Green
Mississippi Wing

Professional Development Officer of the Year
Col. Mary F. Donley
South Dakota Wing

Col. Dion E. DeCamp Ground Team of the Year
Lt. Col. Carlos M. Arroyo, Squadron Commander
Group 2
Puerto Rico Wing

Col. Edwin W. Lewis Jr.
Incident Staff Member of the Year Award
Col. Leo Burke
Michigan Wing

Maj. Gen. Dwight H. Wheless Legal Officer of the Year
Maj. Evan B. Jones
Kentucky Wing

Historian of the Year
Lt. Col. Andrew Notarfrancesco
Northeast Philadelphia Composite Squadron 104
Pennsylvania Wing

Lt. Col. T. Keith Riddle Aircrew Member of the Year Award
Col. Aaron E. Oliver
Oklahoma Wing